Posted in What Breaks My Heart Also Breaks Hers

What Breaks My Heart Also Break Hers

There is always a moment that you wait for but somehow, the hope for it dwindles as time passes. Family Christmas gatherings and connecting in ways that just don’t happen in each ordinary day. With all the imaginable excuses and unrelenting bitterness, each one goes their separate ways. It is something that has saddened my heart for quite a few years.

As a mother and a woman that takes it all into her heart, I break very easily as emotions and longings join me as I sit in my chair with the dog and cat and a cup of coffee in my hand and only the light from the Christmas tree. I worship these quiet moments when God settles my heart as I reminisce about the Christmas’ I loved growing up. Everyone gathered. There as no anger or resentments lingering. I remember the laughter, excitement and joy of the season. I strived for years to recapture these memories and create more like them with my family. I let myself down every year eventually believing that it was my fault for not being successful.

It is in these quiet moments that I remember that I am not the one with the power to repair the damage that has been done.  God is, and I can truly see this when He works through His children to instill in all of the the reason for the season and it’s the children that remind us of this. When I heard her little voice ask her mom why the family doesn’t all gather together  as one for celebrations I realized that it is in these powerful moments that God continues to conquer as frailty becomes strengthened when an unassuming little character longs for the same things I do. Family. Joy. Peace. What has disappeared in the hearts of adults still lingers in the hearts of the children. That is the hope of God. Let us keep their hearts pure and hopeful. Bring back values and morals and the true need for our Savior for he so loved the children. Our hope is in their hearts. They do long for the closeness, love and values family holds.

I know that our Heavenly Father takes on the world and all that is broken and He doesn’t leave the little things to fester within us. His timing is always perfect and there is hope. If it is “golden” to a child, then it is also “golden” to our Mighy King. It may not happen in my lifetime, but my faith tells me that it will happen. I pray that the little hearts in my family will live to see this day and that their faith stays strong as the adults soften their hearts and renew their minds with kindness.

God passes His hand over every broken family and uses it for good. Whatever the struggle, we need to put our faith in God and not ourselves to heal what is unwell. With my cat, my dog and my coffee, I lift it all up to the One who can. Before I pour my heart out in prayer, I praise Him for His love and kindness. He knows my needs before I present them and this is how my hope stays within reach.

Let us keep the little heart pure and light. Teach them about the hope and forgiveness that many adults do not know of. They in turn will teach us.

And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontless between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorpost so far your house and on your gate.”  Deuteronomy 6:6-9 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

